Trip to Poland

My family and I just returned from a month long trip to Poland. It was a trip that we had been wanting to take for many years. My grandma, who’s 85, asked us to go with her and we decided to do it. I haven’t been back for 23 years and didn’t know many of the family members I have there.

At Kopiec Kosciuszki

At Kopiec Kosciuszki

Travelling for a whole month both excited and stressed me out. I couldn’t quite imagine what it would be like to drag around suitcases and kids and ourselves for that long and still keep my sanity. Honestly, I couldn’t wait to get home before I even left!

Turns out a month long trip was exactly what I needed on so many levels. Poland completely enveloped us with loving hospitality and an abundance of experiences, family, and of course, food! My grandma introduced us to much of my huge family while we were there. We attended a wedding that lasted two days. We ate so much cheesecake that now I’m going through withdrawal :). And we just hung out and saw the sights.

Colourful houses in a village.

Colourful houses in a village.

Wawel castle in Krakow

Wawel castle in Krakow

It’s such a beautiful country and so diverse even though it fits completely into the bottom half of British Columbia. The 35 or so million people who live there are mostly in cities and tiny towns. There are still vast expanses of farm land and forests that were in full bloom when we were there. We drove over 3000 km and covered the country east to west and north to south. I have almost 4000 photos to enjoy.

Narrow street in Torun

Narrow street in Torun

Malbork Castle

Malbork Castle

Suntanning at the Baltic Sea it was so cold while we were there!

Suntanning at the Baltic Sea it was so cold while we were there!

 

Playing in the cold Baltic Sea.

Playing in the cold Baltic Sea.

 

 

 

Returning home was the most interesting and unexpected experience. I feel like I have been inserted into someone’s life and I’m not sure what’s going on or what to do. It feels like I have no patterns of behaviour. So cool! And a bit strange. I have been pondering what habits and behaviours I want to have in my life.

One thing I know for sure, we were all inspired to invite even more health into our lives. We all get old but we don’t all have to get sick when we’re old. I also want to be more relaxed in life. Now I laugh at the copious amount of stress I took on prior to this vacation. I may be the only weirdo in the world that gets stressed out at the thought of a long holiday. I can have even more fun in my life and be even more grateful for everyone and everything in my life. I want to create beauty and inspire more self love in the world.

I felt the depths of the roots I have in this lifetime. I found closure and healing in things I didn’t realize were still unresolved for me. I felt a depth of happiness and gratitude when I landed back in Canada and was immersed back in the wonderful and colourful culture we have here. We are so lucky to have so much diversity and combined history. Canada is young but through the people here we have thousands of years of richness. I’m both Polish and Canadian and I feel whole.

Life is slowly getting its rhythm now as I settle back into this time zone and pick up the projects that I have waiting. I’m excited to continue unfolding now.

Your thoughts

