It’s just learning and it works

This is our second year of the kids not going to regular school. My husband and I decided that we were no longer comfortable with our kidsApril 1 2013 White Rock parkApril 1 2013 White Rock going to the public school system and so we set out on this homeschooling adventure last year. Actually it has been a hodge podge of learning of some kind, I’m just not sure what to call it, but it works for us. We have followed curriculum, unfollowed it, tried different programs, unschooled, deschooled, and really just tried to figure out what’s really important to us as a family.

Some things worked and some things haven’t worked. The kids have learned a lot and so have we. I didn’t realize how strong my own convictions were about what constitutes a “good education” until last year. I have done a ton of research, reading, and exploring into this self guided learning adventure and there are lots of experts and just as many parents who just trusted their own hearts and their kids to learn in a different way.

What I have learned so far on this adventure is:

1. I don’t know everything and I love how the Universe surprises me all the time. Imagine my relief when I realized I don’t have to have it all figured out all the time! It’s ok for me to say “no idea, let’s learn this together.”

2. A good, well rounded education does not come from a book – it comes from all kinds of places.

3. Trust is tough for me. I have focused most of my energy during the past year on learning how to trust my heart and my children’s’ hearts and let go of the belief that I am screwing up my kids.

We are approaching this year a bit differently. I have let go of expectations and as a result let go of a lot of pressure on myself and the kids. We are more relaxed about learning and have realized that we haven’t really stopped learning all year. I still get funny looks from people when I tell them that: we learn by living and don’t stop just because the summer comes. I think people get this deep down but they are not ready do all admit it to themselves. Our school system is an ancient slug and it will take time to change. I am not going to wait for that to happen and that’s why my kids are learning in this unconventional way. This different way is a good choice for us and we are loving our experience so far.

One response to “It’s just learning and it works

Your thoughts

